Ma

Thinking of my Pa the other day , and those struggling with the losses of lovers, siblings, friends from Covid and life in general. Well today, Ma has been in my thoughts - 25 years today since she left us. Here she is looking astonished at having produced such a beefy and surly baby!  I think this must be my christening. I had the distinction of being the (then) largest baby to have been born in the Darjeeling nursing home - almost 10lbs! I am older now that she ever was. I still sometimes feel her arm around my waist. 

Ignoring the clamour of the saints, I found myself in the bathroom and paint tins opened - eiderdown, elfin and pantry blue for those that need to know this kind of thing.  I have done better than I thought and the first coat of paint has been applied to the walls. I was spurred on my a most eclectic musical selection. We have something that will do you a random play list of things you have listened to recently -  a magnificent selection blasted out from Maddy Prior to Paul Simon to a mournful but rather good man whose name I've forgotten to Viking music which seemed to consist of encouraging you to Valhalla or to gather in your reindeer, sometime both, multi-tasking in a Viking sort of way.  You might get some of that tomorrow, today it's the uplifting Lark in the Morning sung by Maddy Prior. A damp and dismal day, no larks but the thrush was warbling cheerfully. 

Talking of eiderdowns - no chance of getting this one to sleep yet Joe - see extra. Definitely a little lark! 

A bit of a stream of consciousness, blame the paint and/or lockdown.

Lark in the morning

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.