The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The only blipper in the village?

Back to sea level this afternoon, at the end of a glorious warm day of wall to wall sunshine. But not as close to the sea as this photographer. I always wonder in this sort of situation who got the better photograph. He was a proper landscape photographer with his camera on a tripod and grad filters over the lens. I'm a lazy photographer who always forgets to carry a tripod, and I haven't yet invested in a set of Lee grads (would need to take out a mortgage). I prefer a higher elevation than he chose to get a better layering effect looking across the estuary, and I got the bonus of some human interest in the foreground. And he's missed the spotlight! Anyway, we shall probably never know, for as far as I am aware, I am the only blipper in the village.

Yesterday's photo was chosen by the blip consultant, and she did well if all the stars and hearts are a good measure. It wasn't my first choice, but then sometimes I can't see what's in front of my eyes. Thank you very much to everyone who commented, scattered stars and added favourites.

Today was otherwise a very ordinary day apart from a lovely walk with Gus over the Knott. At work we were being trained on a new electronic record system. And while the younger staff romped through the training exercises, I was left bemused as to what I was supposed to be doing. Now I understand the meaning of 'Can't teach an old dog new tricks', it's not because we know it all already (or think we do), it's just that we are incapable of learning the simplest new things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.