Snow Day!

I’ve been feeling very jealous of all the snow that those in the north have been enjoying in the last week or so. It was finally our turn today. It came down fast and heavy for a couple of hours this morning. Having lived in Colorado for 9 years I really miss the snow! It made me very happy! The timing was apt too - it started snowing while I was watching a very exciting cross-country ski race so it really helped get me in the mood.

Once the skiing was finished I got out and took lots of pictures - see first Extra photo. I shovelled my driveway and then went to see some of the snowmen that the neighbour kids were making. There was some real creativity out there. See second Extra photo for a couple of my favourites.

I thought maybe I should make my own snowman and here he is! The hat is from a stash of baby hats I’ve made, and the scarf used to be worn by Dolly. You can see his friend ‘little snowman’ in the Extra photo, who was one of Dolly’s friends.

Having done all that it was now time for afternoon tea. I didn’t really want to go indoors so I decided to get my camping stove out and had a little picnic in my garden. I’ve learned from all my trips to Sweden that picnics aren’t just for warm weather. They love their winter picnics. If I’d been a bit more organised I would have got the firepit going!

It was a great day! I know that snow can be very disruptive and I’m glad that Lockdown means that none of us are really going anywhere, but I do hope that it won’t be another 10 years before we get a good amount of snowfall again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.