Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Shine a light in the darkness

See, kids? This is why you should study hard at school. If you get good grades and work hard, one day you too could get to work in a laboratory and have access to all this cool stuff!

I had some dry ice left over from a shipment that arrived yesterday, so I decided to use some of it to make a smoky effect while I shone an ultraviolet lamp onto some fluorescent dyes. The dyes here present are fluorescein (the yellow one) and two forms of rhodamine.

This took about 20 minutes to set up and 10 minutes to shoot, so all in all it wasn't a bad spot of procrastination. Also, I can use this shot in future presentations so it's actually work-related! Huzzah!

(I do so wish there was a Science and Technology group on Blip - so much of what I do isn't really applicable to the other groups...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.