Sheep and moles!

Just about all the snow in the garden and neighbouring fields had melted by this morning. I'm sure to the delight of the sheep who were able to get back to what they do best, grazing. We have more snow forecast so I hope they enjoyed it while they could! The photo also shows the huge amount of mole hills that keep appearing. Everywhere you look there are hundreds of them. Our garden, admittedly still much like a field, is full of them. All the other fields and the verges on the side of the lane are just covered. I don't think I've ever seen so many. Is this a good year for moles?? Obviously not so good if you have a smart lawn! In the middle of the right hand side of the picture you can spot our poor fruit cage brought to its knees by the first real deluge of snow we had a few weeks back. This will be restored as the weather improves and before the fruit need protection from the birds. It will need a proper rethink so that we don't need to do this after every winter!
With the snow gone, at least for the day, I took myself off for a longer walk and managed 10000 steps. I have a daily goal of 5000 which I do manage to achieve but would like to do more. I never feel too bad as my days are always full and active and I've lost a stone in weight over the last three months so I feel quite healthy.
I had the all clear phone call from mum's doctor this afternoon. She will be sent home either today or tomorrow depending on getting the care sorted. I knew mum was feeling her old self when she told me she hoped it would be tomorrow "I've ordered roast dinner for this evening, I don't want to miss that!" She did get her dinner and I've now spoken to the care team and it will be tomorrow. Mum is looking forward to sleeping in her own bed and without the disturbances of the hospital ward at night. She has nothing but praise for those that have been caring for her and got her better. This will definitely be a new phase for her, being looked after at home too. 
This evening I finished knitting a warm hat for Mary, the elderly lady along the road, whose coal Barry gets in for her in bad weather. She admired his hat that I had knitted so I thought she may like one too. He can drop it off tomorrow on his coal run!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.