The Waite Gatehouse

Today I attended my first ever public rally. Paladian and I went to the protest rally to try and stop the destruction of this Victorian gatehouse treasure. It was gifted to the people of our state by Peter Waite. That was back in 1914, a long time ago. Waite's great-grandson is shown in the centre of my blip in the blue jacket. This was after he had addressed the crowd. The Gatehouse is in the background.

Our state Government plans to demolish the building to make way for a multi lane intersection. This beautiful old Victorian building was erected  in 1840, only a few years after the formation of the Colony of South Australia. The cost or moving and re-erecting it would be 4 million $ and "they" do not want to do this.

Fortunately we arrived early and although the organisers were expecting about 400 to 500 people, we estimate that at least 2,000 concerned South Aussies showed their support. Even the local TV news station was there.

My extra photo shows some of the crowd, in that it was impossible to get a shot of everyone from the front. 
(PS. Paladian and I saw ourselves in the crowd shot on the TV news!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.