thatcatlady

By ThatCatLady

Bug Sir?

Today I made the mistake of attempting to upgrade my MacBook Pro to the latest operating system "Big Sur".  I left it for a good couple of months from the release date as it's not unusual for there to be bugs and snags for the super early adopters. Looks like I should've left it a bit longer... 

The update failed over half way through and left me with no bootable operating system.  It also put my FileVault password out of sync meaning I couldn't decrypt my drive to perform a recovery and reinstall an operating system.  

After lots of searching online, I noticed that there were many others who had very similar issues.  Some people actually managed to get theirs unlocked but via some very complicated and risky methods which were a bit beyond my comfort zone! 

I decided to take the "easy option", cut my losses and do a factory reset.  It erased my disk but then the old OS install failed on that too! I could only laugh at this point because I couldn't believe how much was going wrong with it.  

Eventually, after more messing around I was able to get an operating system to install via Internet Recovery.   I must've wasted a good 6-7 hours on all that today.  

The good news is that this wasn't my main computer and I didn't have any important files on there which weren't already backed up.  I can't say I'm in any rush to update my other computer now though! What a faff. 

 



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.