Nearly there....

After the normal early-morning dash to the station, it was back to the computer to catch up with some e-mails. About half-past ten I began to feel a bit hungry, so instead of snacking I took Rosie for a brisk walk round Ferry Meadows. The wind was bitterly cold but there were a few patches of blue in the sky and for a few moments the sun actually appeared.

Despite the cold conditions, there are more signs of spring. I heard the first skylark song of the year, coots were nest building and the sallow catkins are poised to burst into golden flowers. I rather liked this arrangement of criss-crossing twigs against the grey-blue water behind.

The suns drove away the clouds, so in the afternoon I spent an hour in the garden, pruning the box bushes and one or two other evergreens that have outgrown their alloted slots. Then it was out for another brisk walk with Ben to avoid the late afternoon desire to nibble. So far I seem to have done quite well - the food diary makes me much more aware of how much I've been eating without really noticing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.