SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Ephemeral Poetry (@darby_hudson)

The other day, I was lamenting the fact that where I live is very suburban, but I was sort of also giving thanks that I live not too far away from a more interesting part of the world albeit a bit bland.

In fact, Dee Why (near where I live) not only has a cracking beach complete with a small restaurant / cafe strip, we also have the most culturally diverse population on the northern beaches (which is admittedly very white generally - think "Home and Away").  This includes a fairly significant Tibetan refugee population and a mosque.  Not such a big deal really - but the next closest one is nearly 20km away.

Anyway, I happened to walk to the pointy building today, with my dog as it turned out, and was pleasantly surprised to find something arguably more interesting than even the graffiti I never see around here.

Ephemeral Poetry!  Tomorrow, when it rains (it's due to) not only will the gutters include dog poo, decreasing numbers of cigarette butts and  increasing abandoned masks, it will also include poetry.  How magical is that?

So I followed the suspicious Instagram link (I am naturally suspicious about all types of social media) and was pleasantly surprised to find that we have a poet living in our midst who not only posts poetry on Instagram (along with sensory reviews of his own book of poems, oddly shot or at least posted as if it's in a mirror - perhaps he didn't notice - perhaps it's on purpose), he also posts his poems, such as pictured here, on telegraph poles.

I now have available to me, a mission similar to Singaporean (Scottish) blipper Cigs (who photos a local tagger called "Cigs").

I probably wont take up the challenge - but it's there if I want it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.