Nine-Banded Armadillo

My first sighting since moving to Arkansas (except for the many hit by cars). They are native to South America, but have apparently moved north first into Texas and as far north as Missouri. Spotted this one while driving the Pig Trail Scenic Byway through the Ozarks today. Extra 1:It was furiously rooting for food (the internet says fly and other larvae). Extra 2: I poked it with a stick and it jumped straight into the air. I squealed like a pig (on the Pig Trail) and jumped a little myself. The blurriness is more likely from me jumping. It does have nine distinct body bands and twelve tail bands. Its legs remind me of turtle legs. This part of the Ozarks got some snow later in the day, so this guy/gal is safely snuggled in it burrow. They are unable to regulate body temperature in cold weather. I would love to capture one on water. They can fill their lungs and intestines with air so they are able to float and paddle across water. Talented!
Enjoyable drive, stopped for lunch at the Rowdy Beaver, then home for a movie (5 Flights Up). Ice cream sundae for dinner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.