Gifts of Grace

By grace

Ditto

Ditto day weather-wise. Heaven. Betta bigga (can't remember how to link to large).

The title that came was 'Blue Remembered Hills.' I was convinced that was the title of a Doris Lessing short story and was mentally writing a wee tale about meeting her (on a book tour junket). Chastened to find it's the title of a play by Dennis Potter (that I'm not even sure I have seen), from a line in a poem by Houseman.

What are those blue remembered hills,
What spires, what farms are those?
That is the land of lost content,
I see it shining plain,
The happy highways where I went
And cannot come again.


How very different life was before instant internet searches.

I crossed paths with DL after a talk she gave. I'd long been a fan of her writing and addressed her as 'Doris' explaining that I couldn't help it, having called her that in my head for so many years. She twinkled and said 'I'm the same. It's 'Virginia this' and 'Virginia that.' :)

She declined our invitation to come out for a drink. Just a bit too familiar, I guess, 'though she graciously pleaded tiredness.

#am writing #am swimming

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.