Maureen6002

By maureen6002

My darling wife ......

This tiny ruby cross was my father’s 60th Wedding Anniversary gift to my mother; the note beneath accompanied the flowers he had delivered to her on their first anniversary. 

My darling wife,
Twelve months to this day, to the hour, to the minute if my order is carried out as arranged, you will receive my bouquet. Believe me dear, wherever I am, my spirit will be with you. Each flower, dear heart, a kiss....

An incurable romantic, and the most wonderful man imaginable! 

He was at sea for much of their early married life and they wrote to one another daily during their time apart. 

They remained deeply in love throughout their lives, dad passing away six months after this gift was given and mum, broken hearted, following him some eighteen months later, happy to be reunited with the love of her life. 

The photograph was taken on their honeymoon in June 1935. 

Thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting this Tiny Tuesday challenge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.