All extinguished

This is on the site of the former Newhaven Station. In fact, I suspect that this piece of land belonged to the Ford garage that used to exist next door to the old station building, and which closed about a year ago (much to our chagrin as we used to use it and I only realised it had gone when I tried to get our overdue MoT fixed in the summer....). This object obviously got left behind.

This reminds me of something funny which appeared in the first set of exam scripts (on EU law) which I marked after I arrived in Edinburgh. I used to have to mark these over Christmas, and I remember sitting there on Christmas Day or Boxing Day 2006, or something like that, and bursting into laughter. Mr A asked me what the problem was, and I explained that I had just read about the so-called 'extinguished Advocate General Jacobs' (a British member of the EU Court of Justice at the time....). Obviously, there was some sort of ex-dis slippage. But, as Alf commented, it was an excellent expression to use, because here was clearly a man who put himself out for his job.

Ho, ho.

In other news, work email has been 'out' since lunchtime. Now that's not entirely amusing. It's even been forcing me to read stuff. Serious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.