The slow and the fast lanes

While waiting for Fred on the Southbank, I watched folk run along the walkway or browse the book market. A chap seeing me take photos asked me to use his phone to snap him with the statue of Sir Lawrence Olivier. It was quite a photoshoot. Several shots and a happy chap later, Fred appeared and we cycled south. On a whim, we popped into Leños & Carbón, a Columbian restaurant on the cycle route that we've whizzed past many a time but never set foot in. It was a feast! The staff there are lovely, too. We advised the owner to install bicycle racks. Since it's on one of the main cycle routes south, he could attract quite a few passing cyclists. We'll definitely return.

At work today I learned all about SEO words. I'd never heard of them before, which rendered me a dinosaur amongst the younger editors. SEO = search engine optimisation, and it's quite a science. I am now armed with tips on how to maximise searches when writing promotional copy. My eyes have been opened.

Jumping back to this morning, Fred and I were quite distressed before leaving for work. We spotted a cat on the picnic table in the garden. It gazed up at us with half-closed runny eyes, then we spotted a large gouge out of the neck, with a flap of skin hanging loose. There was no blood, so it was a wound of a few days. There was no collar and we didn't recognise it. I immediately rang the RSPCA for advice, who suggested I try to put the cat in a box and take it to the vet or they could send a warden round. However, as soon as I opened the back door, the cat leapt over the back fence. I hope someone else managed to help the cat today. Poor soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.