Eight Millimetres From An Auster

My first thought for an image on the theme of eight was a V8 engine. Normally I'd enjoy the quest for one to photograph but that's outside lockdown rules.

Then I had the idea of doing a still life of the eight vegetables contained in V8 vegetable juice. I even bought some wonderfully photogenic, vine ripened, claret tomatoes for the purpose.

I settled on 8mm film. MrQ had a Paillard Bolex cine camera for his twenty-first birthday in 1952. I got my macro lens out and photographed a film that he took when a fellow nurseryman flew him over this area in his Auster in the fifties. The three cooling towers at Rye House Power Station can be seen. They have since been demolished.

I have enjoyed taking my daily blip pics over the past eight years, researching them and writing a few words. I also enjoy looking at the images others have posted and reading their stories and comments, which often sets me off on more research. I have learnt such a lot from the process over the years and always have something of interest to think about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.