JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Something fishy...

For some reason my mojo has largely evaporated over the last few days; maybe it's lockdown weariness, maybe it's just an end-of-winter low point.

Anyway, Richard dragged me out this afternoon, perhaps desperate to dig me out of my rut.  He knew I had some more sculptures on my list to photograph for the ArtUK project, and one of them was at Sheffield station.  So here is a gorgeous salmon, created to celebrate the return of said fish to the local River Don, now that it's no longer full of industrial pollution.  The artist is Jason Heppenstall, and he's used scrap metal of various kinds to make the piece. 

More info here: https://dcrt.org.uk/salmon-of-steel

After that, we went up to Beeley Wood, on the northern edge of the city, for a meander along the Don.  In the extra, there's a picture of the river, with a dangling rope swing, all ready for kids to rediscover when the weather is warm enough to wade out and get to it.

Richard had the right impulse: getting outdoors has lifted my mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.