a town called E.

By Eej

Fab Friday

Right after posting my Blip yesterday I went upstairs (the computer is in the basement) and wondered why it was so chilly in the house. And why Recluse was walking around bitching at me instead of vegetate in front of a vent here or there like she usually does.
The heater had died. It was a little over 60F/15C. AAAAAAAH! WTF, Thursday!?

Fortunately the Beloved was able to leave work early and come to the rescue and he had it fixed in all of 3 minutes - but not before I had to have the oven on for quite some time and then blew a fuse with our little portable fan that left both the treadmill I was on at the time, and the computer lifeless. (Both came back to life after a panicky text and another call from the Beloved)

Oh yes, Thursday's poison was in the tail.

Today brought sunshine, no work and lovely, LOVELY heat. I checked the thermostat every hour :) It also brought the return of the to the feeder. *bounces*

I spend at least a total of 3 hours outside where it was really cold (it made my teeth hurt, so cold), but the sun kept calling me out. The birds were going insane with spring-friskiness - so much twittering and fluttering! I saw a house finch (not a common sight in my yard) and what I think was a Vireo of some kind. OMG! NEW BIRD!
Mr. Cardinal, as shy as he is, managed to come close enough for a (still very cropped) portrait. It's such a ridiculously striking bird - especially in bright sunlight.

Spring is very much on its way; the snowdrops are out as well.
I'm hoping my little bleep-bleeps will forgo the trek back to further north and stay with me. I don't think I can stand losing them. Yes, I know that's silly, and I don't care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.