Bakewell Youth Theatre

Over the years the town council has supported the Bakewell Youth Theatre so I only thought it was fair to support them myself and this evening I spent a lovely evening seeing their latest performance.
I'm a bit embarrassed to admit that I've forgotten the name of the production, but it doesn't matter as I thoroughly enjoyed a very gory production involving Ogres and Ogresses involved in cannabillism and appearing to eat dead babies.
Here's a young lad about to have his ear cut off by a fairy.. how cool is that.
Wonderfully gory...
To top off the evening I won a bottle of wine on the raffle!
Here's a bit more about the youth theatre:-

Stars of stage and screen were helped to follow their dreams when they were students at Bakewell Youth Theatre.

Telly actor Richard Lumsden from the Catherine Tate Show and Sugar Rush, is now a patron of the youth theatre.

He said: "I had a fantastic time being part of the Bakewell Youth Theatre between '81 and '83. I made some great friends, and performed in the production of Godspell in Bakewell Church.

"I especially loved the Wednesday evening meetings at the Wheatsheaf in Bakewell, practising a load of theatre games and exercises.

"It was around that time that I decided to apply for drama school, and Sue Stones, along with my drama teacher at Lady Manners - David Wilson - helped me prepare my speeches. I would have been stuck without that help.

"I was offered a place at the Guildford School of Acting and have been working in TV, film and theatre since graduating in 1986.

"I saw Sue Stones last December, and met a number of the young BYT members who were all engaging, articulate and enthusiastic about the work they were doing. It was a real privilege to meet them.

"I was thrilled when Sue asked me to be a patron. I honestly don't think Bakewell would be the same place without the youth theatre. Sue deserves a medal."

Other former youth theatre luminaries include Issy Suttie from telly's Peep Show and musical theatre performer Tom Pearce who played the lead role in a tour of Jesus Chris Superstar and has sung backing vocals for pop superstar Robbie Williams.

Set up 31 years ago, the youth theatre has prepared students for a range of diverse careers. Ex-pupil Mark Hambley is a drummer in the prestigious Royal Marines Band and has been asked to beat the retreat at this month's Edinburgh Festival. Mark Ashworth, a voice coach and interpreter, lectures on the genre of Italian horror films.

Several past students who have gone onto form their own companies returned to Bakewell to perform in this month's arts festival. They include dancer Liz How, who trained in Middlesex, and previewed a new show in Bakewell prior to its appearance at Edinburgh Festival, Sean di Sora, a graduate of the Arden School of Theatre in Manchester, who brought a new play to the Medway Centre earlier this week and Hull University graduate Emma Bright who took part in an open-air production of Twelfth Night.

Bakewell festival's directors include Mark Roberts who is responsibe for theatre production. Mark, a graduate of top performance arts college Arts-Ed, cut his teeth at the town's youth theatre.

And ex-youth theatre members Phil Coggins, Louise Manifold and Helena Coates are working together in the Babbling Vagabonds Puppet Company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.