The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sunday sheep

I dare say they're there every day, but I'm not!

Friend AK and I walked up the Heavens valley to the Limekilns (where the animal incinerator is located; I see they have applied for planning permission to turn a field into a pet cemetery) and down the slope on the other side to the Toadsmoor Valley. I'd never been there on foot before. There's a beautiful lake and some cottages but we did not linger, as there seemed to be many other walkers around. I'll come back during the week, now that I know the way.

AK suggested the way back, through some woods and eventually to Quarhouse lane, which is still some miles from my home. We trudged through the hamlets of Far Thrupp and Thrupp, uphill to Dry hill wood and home again through the Heavens valley. AK's phone said we had done 15,000-and-something steps,which it reckoned was only 5.something miles. We both agreed that it had felt like much more. Maybe because the route was so up and down!

Back home, I went for a lie down with the maps, a cup of tea and a piece of newly-discovered GF Christmas cake. Before I knew it, my eyes were closing!

Now we're watching Bloodlands (new series). I've  managed to make an aromatherapy oil and wrap it ready to post, as well as wrapping some birthday presents/cards to post. What with doing the washing as well, I've done almost everything apart from making g-f bread. I do have a bread machine, but I doubt if I will start making it at 10pm.

Oh yes, I'm also listening to Freshwater, a mini-series  on the Guardian's Today in Focus podcast. It's about the Freshwater Five, a group of  lobster fishermen who were convicted of cocaine smuggling on the Isle of Wight in 2011 and sentenced to 104 years between them. They have always  maintained their innocence. Their appeal begins next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.