michh's low-tech snaps

By michh

GRINDING TERROR!!!

This is an awful image, I know, but it's completely adequate. These two guys tortured me the last night until the early morning hours, and as it looks, they will continue doing so the next night. It's 8:00 PM now, I just got home, and they started working.
What they are doing is some kind of welding the tramway beside the house, what suggests itself not to be performed at daytime when the tram is driving. A diesel is running all the time (see the white truck). It smells burnt, like phosphor or sth., sparks are spraying every now and then, and it's loud. But that's not all. Before and after that, they are GrINdiNGk the rails, what is VERY loud. They are driving up and down the street on their bizarre small cart, producing noises as if an old ocean liner is wrecked, and shout to each other as if they already got deaf. I'm sure they are brave guys (just talked to them), but they definitely chose they wrong profession!

I'm sure Terry Gilliam would haved loved to hire them both for his film Brazil as the Central Services repair brigade.

I took the chance to capture together with the workers an unknown chinese student who is doing her jogging training quite regularly and passes by quite often here. Maybe I should ask her to marry me and emigrate to China tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.