Loose screw, lost and found

Tiny hands, and tiny eyes,
find lost things of tiny size.
No surprise when I say who
found my tiny glasses' screw:

someone crawling on the floor
found what no-one bigger saw;
passed me what I thought a crumb,
between her finger and her thumb,

the screw I thought I'd lost for good!
Although I guessed it never would
be found again, once lost, I see
I hadn't reckoned with little Miss B!

I'd kept the specs and broken arm,
"just in case" (it did no harm),
and though they only cost one pound,
I'm pleased the tiny screw was found.


© Celia Warren 2021

Anyone who hates waste will relate to my delight that the screw that held my specs' arm in place was found. I do have a proper pair of reading glasses, but I don't wear them when I'm looking after little Miss B, as she does have a habit of removing them from my nose and playing with them. So my Poundstretcher magnifiers are ideal to fill the gap. When the arm came off, I didn't expect to find the missing screw. But what a happy ending! The photo of the teeny tiny hinge seemed ideal for the Tiny Tuesday challenge (with thanks to this month's host Cathy1947).

Incidentally, I call the bits of glasses that fit over one's ears the 'arms'. But when I trod on* my proper glasses sometime last summer, and had to have an arm replaced, the optician referred to it throughout as the 'side'. Is that the new word for 'arm'? I guess it must be!

*And I worry about what harm the little one might do!!! How hypocritical am I?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.