An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Yellow Tailed Black Cockatoo

Not much photographically today - I don't think anyone will be employing me as a sports photographer just yet, judging by my fairly woeful attempts at recording my daughters swimming races today. Need a bit more practice I think (I'm sure I'll have lots more opportunities over the coming years, as she loves swimming) She came home with her first ribbons (a first and third), so she was happy. It was a very low key event, aimed at encouraging primary school children. So no disqualifications for not touching the walls properly - but it was still run professionally, like a proper meet. She has another one on Tuesday too.

This is a Yellow Tailed Black Cockatoo, quite common in the South Eastern part of Australia. They are a very large cockatoo (55 to 65cm length) and have a very distinctive call. They love pine cones and I often see them in my pine trees at this time of year.

Don't bother going large!

(I have just realised that this bird hasn't been blipped before on the Blip Big Year, so I have just tagged it to go in the list. I'm surprised no one has added it before now)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.