Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The promise of more to come

I've been fancying trying a low key flower image for a while. It looked good on my screen before uploading, but not great on white. You must see this on black.

I'm finally feeling more like a human being again.

I slept all night until six, but woke with a hangover head, despite no alcohol to induce it. We had another good meeting of the Covid-19 photography group. We are going to submit our book to the RPS Creative Section and hope they will publish an article about it.

Then it was back to the Photography Show. I watched an interview with Joel Meyerowitz which was fascinating. None of his images were shown, which was disappointing, but I was very taken with some of the things he said about photography, particularly the emotional content of the image. See him here.

He talked about various projects, including how he found a way to get into Ground Zero and take photographs for months after the collapse of the twin towers.

Later I heard Brooke Shaden give a talk about how to critique your own photography. She is a fine art photographer. Her style may not be mine (!) but she talked a lot of sense about how to evaluate images.

I'm hoping to see some of the talks that have been recorded as the week goes on. I missed Maria Falconer's talk but I slept - still much needed.

Oscar is doing fine and neither cat has made much fuss about being kept in the house. So far so good.

We watched the second half of Mole Agent and found it very moving indeed. (See yesterday's blip for more information.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.