Rhodes

Rhodes, the inquisitive, scholarly roadrunner, saw me from afar, and I saw him.  I called…he came to visit today; he likes to hear the recorder play.  Alas, I was without my soprano; instead, I spoke in a low, soft alto.  I had no choice; I wanted him near, now more than ever.  And Rhodes is not the only one who is clever.  In truth, I think he likes the human voice; thus, he approached showing almost no fear, though it had been more than a third of a year.

I swear he recognized me.  In the past, while playing a lilting tune, he has charged and strutted and stood quite near.  This afternoon, a mere three feet away, he eyed me a good while with his left eye, hopped around to look with his right, hopped back again to observe me with his left, taking my full measure.  Again, I swear it seemed he recognized me.

We danced our bird and human trance……I whispered; he posed, he preened, he took an observant stance. Several times he clattered his beak as if to speak.  I nodded and cooed; we entered a magnificent acceptance.  He approached within a breath of my outstretched hand; had I seed, I have no doubt he would have eaten my offering.  I promised to return with food and song. I thanked him for staying so unusually long.  ……………..Grace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.