Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Back

A return visit to Dales Wood, near Denny, only a day after my first visit there!

Dales Wood does not cover a big area but I was aware on my walk on Monday that there were other, possibly better, paths through the wood than those I had taken, and so a return visit was called for. At least this time I would start from the proper entrance, rather than cross over a gap in the boundary wall as I had done on Monday.

And, indeed, there was a better path. I followed it around the inner perimeter of the wood (pictured) until it just faded out without any obvious sign of warning about half-way round. Made my way through the trees without too much difficulty and came across the path (more like a muddy track) I had been on yesterday. Before long I veered away from that and soon discovered another track that I was able to follow back to my start-point. The whole exercise was only about 2.5km long, but it was an interesting diversion (in more than one meaning of the word).

OK, I've now 'done' Dales Wood. I may return in the summer or autumn when I expect the scenery to be a little different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.