In the Shadow of the Mountains Day 2

In the Shadow of the Mountains Day 1 here

It was a cold night under canvas as frost formed on shell of my shelter. There was no cloud to provide blanket and as the moon rose from behind the mountain of Pen-y-Ghent, it shone through the green skin of my tent and there was darkness no more.

I set my alarm to wake at 6.30am; to give me time to rouse and get ready to witness a sunrise. I've done this before from on high. Once for my 300th photo (seems like years ago...) when I was greeted with cloud and not a glimpse of sunshine. But today was different and the horizon was already warming up for a glorious day.

Our water had frozen and our tents were sugar coated with ice. Breath had form and structure, and it was incredible to see so far and wide with not another soul to be seen.

The moon was high and mighty, lingering as long as she could until the sun peeked over the horizon, stealing her glory. Frost turned to vapour, you could actually watch it melt and rise to the sky, ready to begin another cycle.

The still snow topped mountain of Ingleborough glowed in the sun, and this was my favourite photo as the cracked limestone landscape led a crazy paving path to it's base.

We packed and headed back. A great break away from the routine. A chance to refill batteries, clear minds, think of nothing and contemplate the stars.

More of the day here.

Thank you for the response to Friday night's photo - I'm overwhelmed. All I can say is that it's not difficult nor a hardship to get to these places. For the chance of a sky like that, the small chance, but a chance nonetheless, it's worth the effort. And on the occasions when the weather is wet and the cloud is complete, the sound of nothing but rain on your tent is wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.