Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Another blue tit

Rather damp today. I looked out an old Panasonic lens with powered zoom to try, particularly to see if I could use the zoom remotely to be able to get a more magnified picture of the birds. This would mean that at least some photos might need to be cropped less, and with lens 'only' having a range of 45-175mm this would be an advantage. However, it seems the otherwise excellent program for tethered operation does not provide for use of the powered zoom lenses (there are only 2, and it is many years since they were introduced). But the phone app does support zooming, so I used that instead. I then tried using the Sony RX10iv which has a powered zoom lens, and though the phone app for that camera is very limited, it does support the powered zoom lens. intermittent heavy drizzle was a problem, and at one point the Sony got quite damp as I didn't realise the rain had restarted  The Sony is supposed to be weather resistant, though Sony's reputation in that respect is not particularly good. The Panasonic I used has a weather resistant body, but the old powered zoom lens is not. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.