Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Spring sunset...

A day that looked and sounded like spring - but still felt distinctly like winter! Pete went off early to a meeting near Reading, but there wasn't much chance of a lie in for me, as I had to take Alex to Orton Pit for a day's volunteering. And I'd agreed to make a batch of soup before we went, to accompany a slightly stale bagel. as there wasn't much else in the cupboard for his lunch...

Once I'd dropped him off, I nipped to Sainsbury's to rectify that situation. All seemed to be going well until I got home, when I realised I'd left the six cans of dog food in the trolley! The rest of the day was spent report writing. I briefly toyed with the idea of some gardening, but it felt so cold that I decided to leave it. Clearly Alex's work had kept him warm, as when I went to pick him up he had cast off his coat and jumper, and was complaining of the heat. He was also on an exercise high, having spent six hours solid raking reeds!

Rosie and I then headed to Ferry Meadows for a late afternoon walk. The parking area was packed - everyone was taking advantage of the dry, fine weather. We had a long walk during which I briefly saw a kingfisher, and was very amused by the antics of the riding school horses, which had been let out into their pasture for the first time this year. Their joy was total :)

The sun was setting fast so we headed quickly round to the eastern side of Gunwade Lake to watch it set over the water. A pair of grebes were calling, a very evocative sound in the dimming light - you can just see one of them in the image. Most people had left by this time, meaning that I almost had the place to myself. I remembered just how much I enjoy spring evenings, and being alone among wildlife. Perfect peace...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.