fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

HIgh Heron

My good friend of almost fifty years is here to visit from Alaska. We met in the school marching band many moons ago.. Back then, marching along--she with her clainet and me my flute--I asked her "Do you play that thing?" Rather indignantly she replied "of course I do". I then laughed and said "well, I don't play mine..can't march with my oboe and I don't play the flute all that well!". We became tried and true friends since that day...oh and...after a bout on the bells which sounded worse than the flute because they were loud and you could REALLY hear the mistakes, I was given some cymbals and moved to the percussion ranks! Karen and I have enjoyed a long, loving and trusting relationship sharing friends, family, going through both our parents deaths, moving out west around the same times, and having so many good laughs through so many struggles and stresses life throws at you.

Today I took her along with the hooligans to view the majestic herons and share a few more laughs along the trail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.