MOTHERS DAY WALK

Neil and Rachael arrived around 12,30pm. (  Rachael did a Skype call this morning with her Mam and brothers and sisters.  So long since they have all seen each other.)  We drove to Watergate Forest Park which is around 2 miles away.  Its a Nature Reserve located on the site of a former colliery. Reclamation work finished in the 1990s and the area is now a haven for wildlife and a recreational site for visitors.  There are many trails and paths and a lake. We had a nice walk.  Only 2.75 miles but it felt longer as there were lots of steps and uphill paths.  It was dry but windy. We were surprised that there weren't many people around but as we were leaving it seemed to be getting busier.  Lots of dog walkers seemed to be arriving.  I have added a collage of a few scenes from Watergate Park. ( Not easy to do a " selfie " shot with Neil as he's over 6 feet tall and I'm barely 5 feet tall - but we managed ).

When we got back home Neil and Rachael popped in  to see Tino and then they were off. They were going to watch the rugby on TV. Rooting for Ireland of course. I was lucky to be able to see Neil on Mothers Day as I know a lot of Mams will have been unable to see their children due to Covid restrictions. 

Musical link -  A Song For Mama by Boyz II Men

I did think about ordering an Afternoon Tea delivery but decided just to put a few things together and make my own,  So I bought a quiche, a scone, some small biscuit cakes and a large spiced carrot cake.  Neil brought me a box of truffles so I have also eaten them.  I have added a couple of photos of my tea and the chocs in my Extras.

TV this evening - Dancing On Ice and The Great Pottery Throwdown.  Recorded Bloodlands and Grace.

Steps today - 11,022

CORONA CLASSIC - The Banks of Green Willow - George Butterworth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.