Protection

I am not sure how well known it is outside China and Japan, but there has been a conflict brewing between the two countries over some islands and who actually controls them. The most recent article I could find about it was here.

When it all started. Anti japanese sentiment in China was very high. A lot of Japanese businesses were boycotted, some establishments put signs on their doors saying the would not serve Japanese people and in some places, people with Japanese cars were dragged out of their cars and the cars were set on fire.

I have seen various deterrents for this. A lot of Chinese people just put stickers over the brand name. Which in itself is OK but to me just highlights a car more. The interesting one I saw today was this one.

The sticker (literal translation)

Che shi ri ben che (Car is Japan Car)
xin shi zhong guo xin (Heart is Chinese heart)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.