Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Snowdrops at Wallington

The snowdrops are hanging on in the woods at Wallington, but are really past their best. I don't know how long this snowdrop sculpture has been there. It looked a bit forlorn against the backdrop of leafless trees, but I thought it was interesting enough for a blip.

The day started very early. I was awake before 6 so that Oscar had sedation early. He proved relatively easy to catch because he went to hide in our small cloakroom, behind the toilet. Margaret (across the road) came to help as before. Brilliant.

The vet removed the stitches. There is some pus coming from inside the wound. That's not great news and I'm supposed to bathe his wounds regularly. The vet said that Oscar had been very brave. I rather think that I was the brave one when I grabbed him for the basket, but I smiled sweetly.

This afternoon I went to Wallington. They have increased the visitor numbers and it felt much busier. It was still easier to stay away from others. I went on the riverside walk and enjoyed the stepping stones until one wobbled alarmingly!  I made it over.

At the end of the walk (3 miles) I treated myself to a take away cappuccino from the café. It's my first drink bought outside the home since the first lockdown!

Our internet went off during the night. BT say I need a new hub. Really? It will arrive tomorrow or the next day. I ended up buying a day of internet from BT so that we could see Alexander McCall Smith being interviewed about a book of poems he wrote in lockdown. The interviewer was excellent and gave him the opportunity to expand on his thoughts. It was thought provoking and a delight from start to finish.

I think I will sleep well tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.