Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

High!

Another nice day, the morning marred only by two scam phone calls at 7.15 and 7.25. Our phone has an external bell which means it rings even though our call minder checks unknown numbers. I later had a look at it, this evening, as although I can deal with the phone ringing randomly during the day it's not very nice when it wakes you up. I've bent the clapper away from the bell so hopefully that will work. Watch this space!

Having been roused early I hung the washing out and so the towels all dried over the day. I walked down to Craigleith to buy a 21st card. I went the long way round via the cycle path so walked just under 3 miles as a round trip. This squirrel was above my head watching me as I walked. My knee seems OK, thanks very much for all the sympathy yesterday. I hasten to add that I tripped over a stone when I wasn't looking where I was going and fell , I did not hushed voice, 'have a fall'!

Back home I did a couple of hours in the garden then sat and read my kindle for a while. I had a turn on the exercise bike too. I've worked out I can lay my Kindle on the display panel and if I read the time goes much more quickly.

I was delighted to hear the outcome of the first of the parliamentary investigations. I believe that the result of the second has already been leaked by some of those involved. No matter what your views on the whole thing are, I cannot understand the lack of moral responsibility which allows someone to do that. Confidentiality seems to be sadly missing these days in the self seeking search for news and sensationalism. Tomorrow there is a vote of no - confidence, so far as I am concerned, the FM is about the only politician that I have trusted and in whom I have had confidence for a very long time.

This evening I went and picked up Pickle again, and brought her home. She's settled back here really well, although I think Cleo is a bit pee'd off, she'd enjoyed being the sole feline incumbent for the last few days.

Ali got home from work today to find all the parking places in her street coned off. The dread 'spaces for people' has arrived. They are making the whole street no parking with no suggestion as to where the people who live there should park their cars. None of the houses have drives or any alternative to parking on the road - which previously had no restrictions. I think the residents of neighbouring streets are also going to be very unhappy once all these extra cars try to fit in and I have no idea how tradespeople and deliveries will manage. It seems extraordinary that these sweeping changes can be made with little or no consultation. Ali certainly wasn't aware that it was going to happen.

We had roast chicken for dinner tonight after I'd finished driving around. Has to be one of my favourites

Quiz night on BBC2 tonight. Sadly though my favourite of tonight's two teams didn't make it the final of University Challenge.....Only Connect managed to be even more obscure than usual and we missed Mastermind.

Keep safe everybody, I'm hearing of more friends in their 50s being vaccinated which is good. I wonder when we'll hear about our 2nd dose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.