Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Stations of the Cross 2

There were torches this week! It's also a lot brighter this time compared to last week. We're drawing closer to daylight savings time. I can't wait for more playtime in the sun and spring weather. In a future stations of the cross shot, I'll talk about the significance of this great tradition.

Today, I want to write a little about how people live the faith. Working at a Christian institution, I've come across all sorts of Christians from various backgrounds. Of those various Christians I encounter, one of the groups who intrigue me the most are the former Catholics. I find this interesting because being a Catholic is at the core of my identity and someone who leaves makes me want to understand what went wrong. I want to know their journey and why they left.

I follow film critic Roger Ebert on Twitter and he has quite a journey with his faith. In his blog post he talks about his faith formation and his overall grips on his faith. Being Catholic is hard. It's especially hard when you live in a world with so many earthly problems as Ebert suggests towards the end of the article. Maybe people leave the Church because they want to simplify their faith. Maybe they just want to refocus on what they believe is the heart of Christianity. To this, I want to say to each his own, but I know that response is not enough.

Here's last week's shot.
Stations of the Cross

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.