LD 366 The final moment...

This is the third time I have recorded the end of a Parliamentary session in my blip journal.

In 2011  (which I blipped from the party event afterwards) I was going off to contest, for the first time,  the constituency of Argyll & Bute. having been a South of Scotland Regional MSP for two terms (with a break between 2003 and 2007) .  I was also Education Secretary and had been in Government for four years, in three different jobs. 

In 2016 (which I blipped from the chamber too) I was ready to re-contest   Argyll & But but had been out of government for just over a year .

Now this is my final (ever) day in the Chamber, with the Parliament going into electoral recess at midnight tonight though because of the pandemic we remain MSPs until the 4th of May in case we have to be recalled for any emergency.   I also remain a Minister (having come back into government in August 2016) until replaced sometime in mid May. 

On the last two occasions the chamber was crowded as we said our formal farewells, and heard from the Presiding Officer for the last time but rigorous social distancing is now in place, so there were less than half the members present and there was no subsequent party campaign launch event.

Today   I was sitting directly behind the First Minister so was lucky to get this shot just as Ken MacIntosh finished speaking.   I suppose I broke the  rules by taking the picture whilst we were in session, but given it was my last day in the place I suspect I will get away with it. 

Just before this morning's final session of FMQs I got my old friend Kenny Gibson to take a picture of me in the empty chamber, and that is my extra photo.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.