Black Chapel, White Clouds

Change of title...

My Nikkor DX 10-24mm arrived at midday. Three glorious hours trying it out, with polariser filter attached.

With such glorious blue skies abound, my relaxed meanderings around the Cathedral Close was as photography should be. And making a nice, sociable change from twilight, dawn or night shooting!

The lens is a cracker, as you might expect from a Nikon marque lens and at 10mm had no more barrel distortion than my Nikkor 18-200mm, at 18mm.

Of course loads of shots of the cathedral in its surroundings, grotesquely distorted as well as natural as possible, plus the many great old buildings than adorn the Close (the largest cathedral close in the UK).

Somehow, though, when the clouds started to congregate in the west much later on and as I was walking home, that I felt the images were more 'me' and more blippable. Always a quandry when one has many possibilities. This is the chapel attached to my old grammar school, shot over the Close wall. Quite a bit of selective contrast/brightening and such, to get the best from the different areas of cloud, plus a crop on the left.

ps - For once, I didn't try and extract detail from the chapel's shadow detail and purposefully left it a deep black silhouette, maybe as it's an anchor point for all those exploding cloud details.

pps - Anyone spotted the bird in the sky? (best on 'large'!)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.