Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Portrait of a Roebuck

..for isbi's MonoMonday on the theme of 'Portraits' - thanks so much for hosting, isbi ;)

Now I'm going to surprise you.  I didn't:
a) take this early in the morning
b) take it in the reserve
because the first part of the morning was grey and gloomy, so instead I went for an afternoon walk down by the canal.  There were huge numbers of dog walkers, families (on a Monday? no school? - Easter hols, I'm told, but haven't they only just gone back?), and rowers doing their stuff so I wasn't sure how much wildlife I'd see, but I only walked off the main drag 10 paces and on my left this beautiful boy got up from his reed nest, looked at me over his shoulder and walked off. 

This sort of minor connection with wild creatures, however brief, makes me feel extraordinarily privileged.  I wished him a happy life.

Hope your week's begun well, lovely peeps  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.