The Realm of Frost and Fog

Best viewed large.

I got woken up very early this morning by a feline territorial battle in my bedroom. The two cats that live here only barely put up with each other but last night the aggressive fat one decided to invade the space of the timid slim one. I was not happy. I probably don't get enough sleep so I rather resent that important period of restoration being intruded upon. You have probably guessed that I'm not much of a cat person by the fact that I've managed to resist blipping either of them in almost two years! I tolerate them with about as much enthusiasm as they tolerate each other!

The upside was that being awake early meant that I could take a walk on the moor before work. The fog was heavy and I was only barely able to break out into some very hazy sunshine on the tops. Where there was exposure to clear skies there had been a very heavy frost. It was all very delicate and ethereal, a very brittle kind of beauty.

The fog cleared in the afternoon but I was stuck in the office until quite late so no opportunity to get out in the sun before cycling home this evening. Went the long way around tonight but taking it steadily in the dark as I'm having to learn where the new holes are in the road. I'm finding it's really difficult to get the temperature right at the moment. I'm getting too warm climbing the hills and then cooling off too much on the descents.

It's been a football night in with the boys. I'm not a Manchester United fan but I was rooting for them tonight against Real Madrid, especially after the sending off. Sad how one very marginal refereeing decision can have such an impact on a match and indeed a whole competition. Still, youngest son was happy as he appears to have won over £20 on a complex bet - that was until Leeds conceded a last minute equaliser. It's quite hard work watching the football with him. Very much a case of constantly interchanging agony and ecstasy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.