1410 m

Nice enough day today, we took some stuff to the library to swap and then walked around town via the beach. Today's blip is a simpler stamp as I didn't take a camera with me and couldn't be bothered to take a picture on the beach with my phone today - it was nice to just be out.

The stamp is a 16p stamp marking the Humber Bridge which at 2.2 km long with a span of 1.4 km was the longest suspension bridge in the world from construction in 1981 until 1998. Apparently it's still the longest suspension bridge you can walk or cycle across. I like that the stamp has the span marked out only in metres, back in 1983 we couldn't predict how backwards the UK would now be...!

In 1983 I would be in secondary school, which was nice - being better than my primary school. I got to do science stuff and loads of maths which I really enjoyed. Sadly my dyslexia wasn't diagnosed which did hamper my English, French and German no end. If you know you have a dyslexia there are ways to help you cope, but if you don't it's a pretty miserable time...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.