Run, run

Today was a minor fail. After lots of changing of minds, in the end we proved incapable of getting out of bed early to make the promised trip to the Pentlands (whilst avoiding the crowds). Thank goodness Ridgeback, who was originally going to join us on a later walk, but then didn’t fancy the earlier start, didn’t decide to give us a surprise by turning up. Perhaps we all needed our sleep.

After a later rise, we did get out for a potter around the parades and it was surprisingly quiet. Just a few walkers and runners. The families and the cyclists were mainly not in evidence. Perhaps they were either eating chocolate, or had indeed gone further afield for their entertainment. On returning home, I headed straight out again, and managed a guided walk/run courtesy of the Peleton app on the grass in the park. Coming back into the building, I met our upstairs neighbour who has just got a wee dug. 15 weeks old, so still rather sweet. He obviously hasn’t got long claws, because if he did we would probably be able to hear him padding around upstairs. I’m afraid I’ve forgotten the dog’s name... I’m sure I’ll meet him again.

This afternoon I watched the Boat Races on the ipad, and celebrated a double Cambridge win. The OUBC men behaved oddly after their loss, almost catatonic, refusing to answer questions and not engaging with the Cambridge VIII at all. It might possibly have something to do with this. It was mentioned briefly by the BBC before the men’s race in terms of its impact on the men, which I found extremely odd and rather distasteful. I have no idea whether it was mentioned before the women’s race, but you would have thought its impact might actually be as great, if not greater, on the women.... 

After that, I baked some sea bass with lemongrass and ginger in the oven. It was tasty. I’m definitely getting better at this cooking business, having completely lost my confidence having not cooked at all for nearly 15 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.