Its that time again

Inspired by an email from a new friend I have made during lockdown (long story I will bore you with on a day i have nothing else to talk about!) Jon and I squeezed in an hour at the allotment after work. We have been feeling a bit flat about the allotment as the soil is so poor. Today I tried to hoe a small area to plant my broad beens, but I found some carrots from last year! So after slicing the tops off a few, I dug them out. A bit slug eaten! They didn't grow very well. I hoed a small section which was exhausting as the ground is like rock. But I'm told we must try the no dig method. Jon also plans to build one raised bed which we will buy top soil for. It should make us feel a bit more positive about it. I will plant the broad beans at the weekend, then do some research on the other ideas my friend has given me. If we can make it work for us, whilst making it less work for us, then we will give it another go.

Mollie had cooked chilli in the slow cooker and it was ready when we got back.

And I've just sat in my corner of the sofa since then...doing nothing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.