MY PLAN WAS

to go to Leiden today. The weather forecast told me not to do that, because of the rain they expected to invade the Netherlands from the south. So instead I went to the Madestein park. I was curious if the many swans still would be there. Even now the winter ice and snow had gone.
They were. The many coots too. And they came eagerly to eat the oatmeal and the bread.
I stayed at the shore a long time, being very patient, kind of waiting if something special would happen. Taking pictures, yes.
The sun came almost peeping through the light clouds and I phoned Piet Hein if we would go together to the beach, the rain I was sure would not fall.
Walking a bit further I saw the fields of snowdrops between the birches.
A pretty sight!
While admiring the view I saw and heard six or seven swans starting to run over the surface of the water and flying high over my head.

My haiku:

The swans taking off
Each one follows the other
Only one turns back

And the german proverb:

That is a bad bridge that is shorter than the stream.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.