Lineage

Our lives are shaped by the lives of our ancestors, their stories mould ours. Despite appearances and, perhaps, our best efforts, the apple seldom falls too far from the tree.

These are some of my ancestors. There are more pictures of them on my Blipfolio and I have begun to tell our story on my new blog: Behind the Scenes (link on my About page).

This is the beginning of a deep dive for me, traces will appear here on Blip.

In this instance, I have to agree with Faulkner who echoes my experience.

The past is never dead. It's not even past. All of us labor in webs spun long before we were born, webs of heredity and environment, of desire and consequence, of history and eternity.

[...] we pursue images perceived as new but whose providence dates to the dim dramas of childhood, which are themselves but ripples of consequence echoing down the generations.

The quotidian demands of life distract from this resonance of images and events, but some of us feel it always.


#am writing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.