carliewired

By carliewired

Bankside

It's just a small slice
of Fish Creek Provincial Park.
What a lovely spot!

~ carliewired

There was frost overnight again, but a beautiful sunny day emerged. 

At 10 AM I drove to the nearest portion of Fish Creek Provincial Park and parked at Bankside, right along the Bow River. There were people enjoying the trails and the river bank. 

Fish Creek Provincial Park is the second largest urban park in Canada. It provides over 62 miles of trails and pathways. The park has an area of 5.2 square miles within the city of Calgary. One can see the Rocky Mountains to the west from Bankside.  To me, it is a gem in this urban setting. 

I walked along the river's edge listening and watching for birds. I found a raven high in a tree. He had ruffled up the feathers around his neck as he sat watching the river. One flicker was pecking loudly on a cottonwood tree. He was difficult to see and did not stay long. The Canada geese were active on the river.  I caught one ring-billed gull on the edge of the river just before he took off. The river sparkled in the sunlight this morning. 

A man talking on his cell phone approached me so I walked wide around him. As he passed me and neared the geese, he began to photograph them with his cell phone. This caused the geese some distress as he got too close to them and they took off onto the river with a great deal of noise. I think that this is harassing wildlife. 

On the drive back to L's house I spotted a beautiful male pheasant, but he got away without a photograph. I will be looking for him again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.