Still waiting

Ma still hasn't gone for an x-ray.

After a lot of time on the phone today she is now going in the morning, with a paramedic on ambulance transport. If I hadn't been persistent it would've been Monday. I don't know about you but I think that an 82 year old woman with late stage dementia should not have to wait 5 days to be x-rayed for a possible fracture.

Naturally she isn't able to say if she's in pain and does appear to have a high pain tolerance. When she broke her first hip the A&E doctor was astonished when her x-rays came back. She was convinced Ma would be going home. However she is unusually thirsty and is not only drinking all her own drinks but quite a few belonging to others. She is also quite sleepy and making no attempt to walk. All of these behaviours is completely out of character.

I am extremely unhappy about the way things have gone. I understand that the home cannot send companion staff on the ambulance due to staffing and insurance issues but it really does beggar belief that you pay in excess of £2k a month for this service.

Social services insisted that she would be better cared for in the home and left me no choice in the matter. I remain to be convinced.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The ranunculus from yesterday was in a mixed bunch with some white tulips. Yep. Tulips again huzzah! At this rate I'll lose my endless dandelion photography reputation :)

Hit L for extra loveliness

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.