Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Struggling

(15/4/21)

Good to have a day at home today to get on with things. G spent nearly all day in her office and I worked on a new video. We had a joint Life Group meeting on Zoom with the Silicon Oasis group. The new Pastor and his wife are on a short visit and they joined us.

G's balcony garden hasn't quite taken off as she hoped. This tomato plant may have established itself, but it is not growing fast, sadly. We shall keep watering it and hoping. :))

And Ramadan started today! It was coming up to midnight and I was still working on my video when I saw a message from a friend in Islamabad. I replied and then found myself chatting with her by voice! She is an hour ahead but was up because she was waiting for dawn when she would eat before starting her fast. Gosh.

We have a big change in Ramadan rules this year. Up to now, no one is allowed to eat or drink in public from sunrise to sunset. Dubai is more relaxed in that you can order room service if you're in a hotel and some food outlets get permission to serve lunch, but they have to put up screens to hide any diners. This year, not only can restaurants operate as normal (i.e. no screens), they don't even have to pay to apply for a permit to stay open. I never thought I'd see the day. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.