100 ABSTRACTS - DAY 6

I didn’t really feel like going out this morning, but Mr. HCB persuaded me that it would be a good idea to have a walk round “my field”, so we donned our warm clothes, as there was quite a chilly wind blowing, and off we went.

I was looking for one of nature’s own abstracts, for my 100 Abstracts challenge, rather than one I made myself, and it wasn’t long before I found one.  This lichen was growing on a tree in my field;  we aren’t quite sure what the tree is - not that it matters, but because there is no pollution, as there is no traffic anywhere near, this lichen grows freely.  I know the tree has tiny red berries, so Mr. HCB wondered if it was a rowan, but we shall watch with interest as the leaves come out to try and identify the tree.

Good news when Mr. HCB went for his follow-up appointment this morning - he had forgotten his mobile phone, so I said I would just wait in the carpark, rather than driving anywhere, but it was a good job I did, because he went in at 8.55 and was out again by 9.15.  His eye surgeon said that he now has 20/20 vision in his left eye and he happy to remove the cataract on his other eye and gave him a date of 11th May.  Mr. HCB is delighted, having worn glasses all his life - well, since he was 14 years old - and has been told he will only need to wear glasses for reading and driving.  Hopefully, everything will be hunky- dory before the cricket season starts, but I have told Mr. HCB that if necessary, I will drive him and his cricket buddy, Keith, down to Bristol - and then I can spend the day in Ikea - which sounds good to me!

Thank you to everyone who wished Mr. HCB a Happy Birthday yesterday - he had a good day and says he hopes his next one will not be a lockdown birthday, especially as it has a zero on the end!  We saw our son and grandson and then had a physically distanced afternoon tea with Lynn and Mike.  After tea, we played some outdoor games and Mr. HCB particularly enjoyed the Treasure Hunt because it involved finding lots of chocolates - Mike isn’t allowed to eat them, so Mr. HCB got the lot - what a bonus!

“If you truly love nature, 
     you will find beauty everywhere.”
Vincent van Gogh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.