CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The fallen willow at Frampton Court lake

I needed to get out for a walk this afternoon. It was quite late before I reached the lake and I was mildly amused to find I'd left my big camera at home. In fact it turned out to be a blessing as I had my little camera and I realised it would force me to look differently.

I bought the camera to go travelling light and when in Sri Lanka all those years ago I was constantly amazed at what a fine tool it is. Instead of searching for the detail often far away, I would look more closely at what was around me.

The scene at the lake is so alive with bird movement that I often can't blip a wider context. I love the islands and the effects of wind on water, Spring is about to enable the vegetation's growth to really explode. This little watery scene around the fallen willow will fill with the water lilies whose leaves are just appearing below the surface.

The swans are already feasting on the fresh new weeds growing at the3 bottom of this lake, which is an abandoned gravel pit. Around the shoreline were about eight fishermen who camp out and spend days and nights at a time trying to lure the enormous carp that live in the deeper 'holes' at the bottom of the lake. Apparently this is one of the most renowned lakes for carp fishing in the country and these anglers come hundreds of miles to enjoy themselves.

The feathers on the ground in several places make me think that foxes probably enjoy a feast as well with so many geese, ducks and swans living on the shoreline. I counted more than thirty swans dotted around the lake. I was also pleased to see several terns swooping and diving on the far side, whilst several oystercatchers zoomed about with their characteristic calls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.