Sydney harbour take two

What a difference! My second time in transit through Sydney was in the evening, and this time I got it. Buzzy, alert, alive (though perhaps that was unjetlagged me rather than Sydney). A vast cruise ship was in harbour, its orchestra played twinkly music under disco lights reflecting in the water and passengers wandered languidly to and fro. Sydney harbour's souvenir shops, quayside bars and slow-food restaurants were doing good business. As last time, a million people were taking pictures of the Opera House and the Bridge but this time it didn't bother me. I even took some myself.

These two were taking a quick break behind a Japanese restaurant at the water's edge.

I booked into Sydney station youth hostel and discovered that my bed was in a converted railway carriage on a disused platform. Class.

Sydney harbour: take one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.