Croquet lawn

A magnificently bright (and chilly) morning, part of which I spent having a cup of coffee with H at Lauriston Castle. It was funny to watch the croquet players as we sipped our coffees, sitting on a bench that also had a great view of the Firth of Forth. After a wander around, I cycled home (into a chilly north easterly wind along the Silverknowes promenade) to find that Mr A needed me to take him to Portobello to the dentist. He was not a happy man when he came back to the car after his appointment, and he’ll have to go again on Friday. Hopefully he can go under his own steam, as I have a busy day of meetings on Friday. Otherwise, I guess we can stick him in a taxi there and back. It was lucky that I managed to interpolate these various trips in and amongst my work, and I took my ipad with me to work sitting in the car whilst waiting for Mr A. This ipad is really proving its worth!

Anyway, mostly I will remember today for the pleasure of seeing H for the first time in person since last summer, when we popped in to see her and S at home in Barnton, and on her own for the first time in years. We talked about some of the particular pitfalls of early widowhood, but overall she indicated that things were slowly looking up for her. She can see a way forward. That is great. It has been an incredibly tough few years for her.

Hopefully next time we meet, we might even be able to have a hug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.